deathofacentury

Author Signing with Daniel Robinson

deathofacenturyThis September visit Old Firehouse Books to celebrate the release of Death of a Century by Daniel Robinson. Robinson, a Colorado State University professor and author of several novels, will be speaking and signing books at 6pm on Wednesday, September 2nd.

Death of a Century is a historical thriller set in the gap between World Wars. American newspaperman Joe Henry finds himself on the slick, cold winter streets of Paris. He’s on the run, the primary suspect in the murder of his friend, fellow WWI veteran Wynton Gresham.

Event date:
Wednesday, September 2, 2015 – 6:00pm
Event address:
232 Walnut Street
Fort Collins, CO 80524
recharge_all colors_front

Light Up Them Books!

The ultimate book light is hard to find, but we try to carry some great options at a variety of price ranges!

At the top tier is ReCharge LED Book Light by Mighty Bright

We sell them in store at only $29.99- the best part is you never have to worry about batteries because they come with a micro USB chord in which you can plug it in and charge it up! I personally love mine for in bed, traveling, and even in my living room so I can avoid using overhead lighting! They’re lightweight, adjustable and the quality is top notch! -Rebecca

mighty\recharge_all colors_front

DUO Reading Light retails for $9.99 and is a handy light with a sturdy metal adjustable neck. ALSO LED this handy light is lightweight, small and my mom swears by hers!-Rebecca

31YZp-lEY9L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Finally, we have our mini lights for $3.99 by i-lite. These tiny and thin little reading lights are great for a small and vibrant LED light with replaceable batteries and it’s own box carrying case. These make great stocking stuffers for kids and adults alike and come in a wide range of colors!

312Gk917hFL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Come by to get yours today! =D

Happy Reading!

Rebecca Lee Robinson

prof

Review: How to Read Literature Like a Professor

How to Read Literature like a Professor, written by Thomas C. Foster, is the perfect read for anyone wanting to gain more from their reading experience. Although it may not be the most exciting book you’ll read this summer, it is the perfect tool for any student looking to deepen their understanding in literary basics. As you learn about the structure of symbols, themes, irony, and more; you will soon notice your everyday reading experience become more rewarding. Thomas C. Foster, a professor of English at the University of Michigan-Flint, provides a broad overview of literature that will change the way you read.  

~Teen Advisory Board Member: Katie McCarthy    

81e5oJ6gNdL

Planning Fall and Winter Reading

SEPTEMBER is almost here!

AHHHH!!!

Where did summer go?

Seriously!? and in Colorado it can be SO SHORT.

Well, at least us book worms can make the excuse, maybe a little easier in fall and winter, to stay in with a good book!

Fall and winter predictions see us Coloradans having cooler than average temperatures for September and October. Time to cuddle up with those books, I say.

tumblr_msbb2rRsYQ1ql53vgo1_500

Yet what to read?

I always plan to make my way through the stack of books I’ve accumulated in the previous months. Yet somehow I fall short. BECAUSE- NEW BOOKS!

In the fall months many new items make their way to the shelves, just in time for the holiday shopping season. AND just in time to allow us to be hermits.

This fall at the bookstore we’re excited about:

Purity by Jonathan Franzen

81i0A3u6H0L

Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff

fates_and_furies

The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood

9780385540353

The Blue Guitar by John Banville

9780241004326

The Story of the Lost Child by Elena Ferrante

81oB3qm3apL

Undermajordomo Minor by Patrick DeWitt

9780062281203_79353

Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights by Salman Rushdie

image

Sweet Caress by William Boyd

image (1)

The Visiting Privilege: New and Collected Stories by Joy Williams

71sqr22RtPL

Did You Ever Have a Family by Bill Clegg

did-you-ever-have-a-family-9781476798172_hr

The Lost Landscape by Joyce Carol Oates

91lUQPyLKWL

The Marvels by Brian Selznick

marvels

The Hundred Year Flood by Matthew Salesses

91SX3s+ZAEL

Slade House by David Mitchell

91Bay0KeloL._SL1500_

The Secret Chord by Geraldine Brooks

A1FihemAEfL

Golden Age by Jane Smiley

91hsryD-DeL

Lafayette in the Somewhat United States by Sarah Vowell

81e5oJ6gNdL

The Early Stories of Truman Capote

truman-capote-1

IMG_1156

Tara’s Book Hoard

How I organize my books…
With half my books in storage I still have five shelves worth of books filling my room. I get teased a lot for book hoarding, but it’s one of the perils of being a bibliophile in a bookstore. Right now I have one full shelf that is my current To Read pile. Don’t judge. The rest of my shelves are organized by genre. I like to organize this way because when I’m on the hunt for a new read it often boils down to a specific feel or mood which I’m craving. Adventure? I visit my sci-fi shelf. Something somber? Maybe a classic will hit the spot. Something light I can breeze though quickly? Sounds like a job for a teen read. There are a few authors that cross genres, and that can mean splitting them across shelves, but that doesn’t usually bother me. It’s all about how a book makes me feel.

IMG_1156 IMG_1161

darkdarkwood

Reviews of: In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

Teresa Steele-

Leonora Shaw keeps to herself; a successful crime writer that prefers to keep her life, present and past, private. When she receives an invitation to attend a weekend party for a friend from her past, she reluctantly decides to attend. What begins as an awkward weekend quickly dissolves into Leonora trying to keep the past buried. When she wakes up in the hospital covered in blood and bruises, she desperately has to solve the puzzle of how she ended up there, who was hurt, and did she hurt them. Ruth Ware has written a twisty fast paced thriller that I couldn’t put down. Will highly recommend to those who enjoy unreliable narrators.

Kelsey Myers-

This book has all the trappings of a good English mystery– an approaching storm, an isolated house, mysterious footprints, and a group of (near) strangers all locked in together. Even the characters are playfully crafted, just as you think they’re becoming a cliche they do something totally unexpected. ‘In a Dark, Dark Wood’ is a titillating exploration of the classic tropes layered with all the complex style and hard edges found in the best modern thrillers.

Allison Senecal-

Finished this in a 5-hour chunk, into the wee hours of the morning. Highly recommended for fans of Tana French or “The Girl on the Train”. A strong cast of characters (including the en vogue unreliable narrator, of course), a chillingly atmospheric glass house in the woods of Northumberland, and a slow-burn plot made this an absolute winner for me.