The Must-Buy Books Releasing in April

The Given World by Marian Palaia

(recommended by Teresa)

Riley is such a complex character, but one that you can relate to on many levels. Her journey through grief over her brother’s death is so easy to relate to. She spends many years and choices, many bad but some good, to figure out how to come to terms with this loss. Marian Palaia has written a beautiful story that explores relationships, hardships, and ultimately the journey of one’s self.

A Crown for Cold Silver by Alex Marshall

(recommended by Allison)

Humorous, blithely bloody, moving, and interesting as hell.

Shouldn’t be pigeonholed by comparisons with only “more popular” authors like Martin or Abercrombie (though this was just as fun as Joe’s books), as there are plenty of concepts in here that would appeal to readers of Hurley or Leckie and others willing to push the envelope in the genre (arranged same-sex political marriages, anyone?)

Strong world-building, clever dialogue, fun & diverse characters (the protagonist is a 50 year-old female mercenary and definite antihero). A+. One of the best fantasy debuts I’ve had the pleasure of reading in a long time.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

(recommended by Tara)

This is one of those books you could easily sit down and read in one sitting. As is I read it in two days, and wish I had forced myself to parse it out a little more – I already miss reading this book. Albertalli now joins a short list of authors that I feel really captures an authentic young gay voice. Simon comes to life in this book so fully that I feel like I know him. (He reminded me a bit of Vladimir Tod, from Heather Brewer’s books, except obviously not a vampire.) The supporting characters were also well developed, and I particularly appreciated the racial diversity represented in their ranks. Everyone felt authentic, as did their motivations, for better or worse – ultimately that’s what made the book such a success. This book is charming, sweet, and at times very sad. It’s a coming out book, but it’s also a book about falling in love for the first time, and that universal teenage experience of beginning to really discover yourself. If you’re a fan of David Levithan, teen love stories, queer reads, or just want to read a story with a sympathetic and well developed main character, move this book to the top of your list.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

(recommended by Teresa)

Wow!! What an extraordinary story!! Fantasy meets Ancient World, and what an amazing set of characters. Laia and Elias are both great main characters, and I could relate to both of their situations. The world Tahir has built is amazing, the only downside is that I have to wait at least 2 years until the sequel comes out. Will highly recommend to teens and adults alike!

All the Rage by Courtney Summers

(recommended by Allison)

A powerful, anger-inducing novel about rape culture, particularly its traumatic, and sometimes fatal, effects on teenage girls. This was admittedly a difficult book to get through, due to content and not because of a lack of quality or interest. An uncomfortable and emotional book, but a must-read.

tumblr_miwo95OJxp1rh96qco1_1280

Colorado Literary Adventures

Hey readers, some of you live here and some of you are spread throughout the world and may be thinking of coming to Colorado for some fun and maybe some knowledge. In case you didn’t know Colorado has many great local authors, and has been the setting for many stories, and inspiration for many more.

If you are coming to our western state check out some of these iconic places.

tumblr_miwo95OJxp1rh96qco1_1280

My Brother’s Bar

(303) 455-9991

2376 15th St
Denver, CO 80202

website

An old beat culture haunt this downtown Denver bar is a bit of a secret, with only the most subtle of information for visitors. Though it has a facebook page and website the only information you’ll get before visiting is the address and phone number. Yet inside you’ll find framed photos of Jack Kerouac and Neal Cassady.

Hunter S. Thompson Shrine

More information

Thompson settled in Aspen, Colorado for a time before his suicide in 2005. In Snowmass they have a shrine built for the father of Gonzo journalism in celebration of the unique author.

Clive Cussler Museum

More information

Love old cars? Love Clive Cussler? Check out this collection of 20th century antique and classic cars.

Stanley Hotel

website

Stephen King and fans of the Shining will appreciate visiting and possibly staying at the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, Colorado. Not only is the hotel connected to modern spooks in the horror film genre, but it has a long history of ghosts and paranormal activity. Regardless, it’s in a beautiful location and within driving distance to Denver and other adventures.

tumblr_njvm5nOJY71r3zwaxo1_500

Pikes Peak

Pikes peak is one of the most famous mountains in the world, let alone Colorado. It helps that you can drive up it, or take a train, or hike if you are extra adventurous. It makes our list because it was where the lyrics to America the Beautiful was written by Katherine Lee Bates.


Happy Travels!

~Rebecca Lee Robinson

Down the Rabbit Hole!

Alice in Wonderland will be turning 150 this year! tumblr_nlh8lh8Xoz1u8zv0mo1_250

To learn more about the mystery behind the book and its quirkiness check out these articles in the Guardian:

Alice in Wonderland: the never-ending adventures

Alice in Wonderland – what does it all mean?

tumblr_nleshklmAb1shdtkfo1_500

We are also celebrating the weird and peculiar Wonderland of Lewis Carroll with two parties on April 10th.

tumblr_nldcj12Esj1sd8vx0o1_500

The first shindig at 10am-noon will be for those fans 11 and under for a White Rabbit Tea Party. Featuring games, treats, goody bags, and lots of silly fun as we have a very un-birthday for all our guests.

tumblr_nljsf5sV7Y1qie3w6o1_1280

The second event is 7pm to 9pm and for the teens in town aged 12 and up, this party celebrate the Mad Hatter Tea Party with a darker and more adventurous series of games and shenanigans and includes a copy of both Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass!

tumblr_nlbo3g9nIu1snv6hwo1_500

COSTUMES ENCOURAGED!!!!

tumblr_nlfk6bDzCF1rfjmmho1_500

We hope to see you there, and don’t be late to a very important date! Run if you have to.

tumblr_nlbnxtRmup1snv6hwo1_500

Happy Reading,

Rebecca Lee Robinson

The Paper Towns trailer is here!

If you don’t already know, John Green’s book Paper Towns is being made into a film, and the full trailer was released today!

This is the second of Green’s books to be adapted to film, the fist being the widely successful The Fault in our Stars. The next one in the works is Looking For Alaska. So keep an eye out for that. But in the mean time get excited for Paper Towns!

Watch the trailer here!

Book Madness!!!

From time to time, our staff can get pretty competitive about books– whose staff pick sold more copies? who can come up with the best recommendation? who reads the most? This is never more true than March each year, when Out of Print Clothing unleashes BOOK MADNESS!

BookMadnessLogo

Based on basketball’s March Madness, this competition pits beloved titles against each other, and only one can reign supreme! Complete your bracket by this Sunday to participate, then spend the next weeks voting to get your top choice to #1!

out of print display

If you’ve visited our store recently, you know that we are BIG fans out Out of Print Clothing. Their t-shirts let you show your pride for a favorite book or author, just like you would a favorite band. We sell a wide variety of their t-shirts and tote bags, and we place special orders, too! Not to mention, our prices are always lower than what you’d find online.

books for africa

As if this could get any sweeter, with each piece of Out of Print gear you buy, they donate a book to Books for Africa! It’s a great company for a great cause, and Old Firehouse Books is proud to support them.

Insane

Crafty and Creative Book Formats: Your thoughts?

Not all books are crafted equally. Some are short, some are long, some have chapters and some are one big long paragraph (I’m looking at you, Thoreau).

I’ve read a few bizarrely formatted books in my time and am currently reading one written entirely in lists. There are bits of long prose thrown in between the long, single-word lists, but every page is headed with a description and a number of what the list will reveal about the characters.

It’s a new kind of reading experience. You have to pay attention a bit more to all the bits and pieces of information you are being given in this fragmented way and then put them together to form a complete character in your mind.

What quirky books have you read and what did you think of them? Did you like them, were they too confusing to read, are they going to be the next big thing among authors everywhere? Let us know!

If you’re looking for something new and different to read that will challenge you as a reader, check out some of these books.

S

S. by J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst

House of leaves

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski

Only Revolutions by Mark Z. Danielewski

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

A Visit From The Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

Hold me closer

Hold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Story by David Levithan (available March 17th)

Insane

Me Being Me Is Exactly As Insane As You Being You by Todd Hasak-Lowy (available March 24th)

~Renee

Women’s History Month and You

MARCH is Women’s History Month! WOO HOO! a whole month to celebrate women’s contribution to history or maybe HERSTORY.

The reality is that women have always been making the history, along with the men, they just haven’t been talked about as much. The reasons are many, some patriarchy and some trauma, along with dashes of ignorance and the perspective of historians being on events that were male dominated. Yet, even with those problems in the story of us, we are coming into a time where more and more women are researched, written about, and presented as a vital part to our existence, survival and everything in between.

So this month I challenge all of you to learn a little more on the story of women. Pick up a book, read an article, and learn something new about how women made the world we live in. Here are some of my suggestions to get you started:

 Girls Think of Everything: Stories of Ingenious Inventions by Women  By Catherine Thimmesh, Melissa Sweet


Girls Think of Everything: Stories of Ingenious Inventions by Women
By Catherine Thimmesh, Melissa Sweet

Wheels of Change: How Women Rode the Bicycle to Freedom (With a Few Flat Tires Along the Way)  By Sue Macy

Wheels of Change: How Women Rode the Bicycle to Freedom (With a Few Flat Tires Along the Way)
By Sue Macy

The Sky's the Limit: Stories of Discovery by Women and Girls  By Catherine Thimmesh

The Sky’s the Limit: Stories of Discovery by Women and Girls
By Catherine Thimmesh

Let Me Play: The Story of Title IX: The Law That Changed the Future of Girls in America  By Karen Blumenthal

Let Me Play: The Story of Title IX: The Law That Changed the Future of Girls in America
By Karen Blumenthal

Rosie the Riveter: Women Working on the Homefront in World War II  By Penny Colman

Rosie the Riveter: Women Working on the Homefront in World War II
By Penny Colman

With Courage and Cloth: Winning the Fight for a Woman's Right to Vote  By Ann Bausum

With Courage and Cloth: Winning the Fight for a Woman’s Right to Vote
By Ann Bausum

Warriors Don't Cry: Searing Memoir of Battle to Integrate Little Rock  By Melba Pattillo Beals

Warriors Don’t Cry: Searing Memoir of Battle to Integrate Little Rock
By Melba Pattillo Beals

Happy Reading,

Rebecca Lee Robinson