DAY 13. – A book that disappointed you.

The Blood Confession by Alisa M. Libby had all the makings to be a great story about the infamous Erzebet Bathory, the mentally ill sadist that murdered young women to bathe in their blood because she thought it made her more youthful. This is a dark story, a historical one full of drama, lust and supernatural beliefs. One that I have studied the history of quite in depth, and one of the main stories that inspired Dracula by Bram Stoker. Yet Libby decided to take a different take and downplay the sinister nature of Erzebet as a confused and curious teen that hung out with a wild wolf.

Which, was way less dark and cool than the real story. Of course, it was well written, full of dark anecdotes that many of my friends in high school enjoyed. I just decided I was better to stick with the real history stuff. Which is why I was a history and journalism major in my undergrad. Because, often, truth is stranger than fiction.

Best,

Rebecca Lee Robinson

