Teresa Steele-
Where do I begin?!? This book captivated my from the first page and the rest of the book held me spellbound. Carolyn and her “family” are all in charge of a particular skill chosen by Father. Father is, for lack of a better word, God of the Third Age, and Father is not a very nice person. When a magical barrier is constructed to keep the family out of the Library (their home) Carolyn must rely on herself to figure it out. My co-worker described it best when she calls this book a sort of modern creation story. Scott Hawkins has written such a original novel that I will be thinking about it for a long time. Will highly recommend!!
Allison Senecal-
I laughed through 85% of this novel, which may mean I’m an awful person, or maybe this was an actually uproariously (ok, darkly is a better word, but I laughed out loud A LOT) funny novel littered with death and death and death. Joe Hill meets Clive Barker meets Very Bad Things. I don’t know, I can’t say much without spoiling the drawn-out world-building, but there’s a family of gods and issues of divine inheritance and splashy ultraviolence and poor Steve gets stuck in the middle of all of this. It’s open-ended enough for a sequel, but I don’t want a direct sequel so much as I want another book set in the same universe. Or something. Maybe not.
Kelsey Myers-
I could not get enough of ‘The Library at Mount Char’! One of those rare books where 500 pages is not enough. This book surpasses most genre descriptions, so I have no idea where to shelve it in the store. Maybe I’ll create a little section just for Scott Hawkins and whatever amazing books he comes up with after this one. The best I can come up with for a genre to say that ‘The Library at Mount Char’ is a creation myth for the 21st century — just as complex as ancient mythologies but with even more surprises. I wish I could read this book for the first time all over again.
