Review of Bats of the Republic: An Illuminated Novel

Review of Bats of the Republic: An Illuminated Novel by Zachary Thomas Dodson

What a weird and wonderful novel! I requested a review copy based solely on seeing the “An Illuminated Novel” subtitle, and didn’t even know what it was about until I received it! “Bats of the Republic” is a back and forth and twisting and turning narrative between an amateur naturalist in the 1843 Republic of Texas and a Senator’s heir in a 2143 dystopian steam-powered Republic of Texas.

Throw in a dash of mysticism and oodles of maps, notes, letters, transcripts, naturalist sketches, and even portions of another novel, and this became exactly the book I didn’t know I needed right now!

There are a few twists, some that I saw coming (including perhaps the ~big~ one), and plenty of action for a novel of this format.

Should appeal to fans of Danielewski and “S.” but is much more lucid than either.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s