9781476784649_faca5

A perfect blend of two of my favorite genres, speculative fiction and crime fiction, with a dash of another personal interest (art history) thrown in. First of all, the translation job was smooth and fantastic. I’ve seen a good number of European crime novels ruined by poor or rushed translation, but this is not one of them. Styx somehow managed to be a roughly charming antihero, and I really enjoyed his partnership with Delacroix, who was an interesting character himself. Dhooge writes with a strong sense of place/atmosphere, as well as a certain level of dark humor. Looking forward to more of the author’s books being translated into English. (I noticed all of his works start with the letter “S”???) ***I also appreciated the shout-out to James Ensor, one of my favorite artists.

~Allison Senecal

