Review- These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker, Kelly Zekas

Other than the ending (*loud crying*) this was an absolute BLAST. SCATHING BANTER (I was LIVING for Evelyn’s Byron jabs). TALL DARK HANDSOME GENTLEMEN. HEROINES BULLDOZING THEIR WAY THROUGH TROUBLE. SUPERPOWERS + VICTORIAN ENGLAND. Sorry about the all-caps, but this was a fast-paced, all-caps kind of book. Think…stuffing cotton candy into your mouth for four hours. There are a lot of really neat little nods to X-Men (of course I was gonna bring it up, it’s in the pitch!!) without it being copycat-ish at all. I had a great time saying “OOOoooo this reminds me of…..” Super quick, super fun. Already need the next book ASAP. Perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab and Gail Carriger? ~Allison Senecal

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s