Other than the ending (*loud crying*) this was an absolute BLAST. SCATHING BANTER (I was LIVING for Evelyn’s Byron jabs). TALL DARK HANDSOME GENTLEMEN. HEROINES BULLDOZING THEIR WAY THROUGH TROUBLE. SUPERPOWERS + VICTORIAN ENGLAND. Sorry about the all-caps, but this was a fast-paced, all-caps kind of book. Think…stuffing cotton candy into your mouth for four hours. There are a lot of really neat little nods to X-Men (of course I was gonna bring it up, it’s in the pitch!!) without it being copycat-ish at all. I had a great time saying “OOOoooo this reminds me of…..” Super quick, super fun. Already need the next book ASAP. Perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab and Gail Carriger? ~Allison Senecal

 

Advertisements