9780738746913_516aa

My only complaints?? This wasn’t longer, only took me around 4 hours to finish, and left me an empty husk at 1 in the morning. When, just 25 pages in, you cry a little, you know it’s going to be a great book, right? A lovable/monstrous narrator, lovable/monstrous lady pirates, lovable/monstrous…..sea monsters. Everyone and everything here is written with moral complexity and ambiguity. The world-building is pretty great, doesn’t drag you down, and makes you want to ask a few more questions about some things (just how creepy ARE simioid Reckoners?) Something I was particularly impressed with was the acknowledgment and treatment of unbalanced power dynamics within relationships. I’m trying to flail without spoilers but *Reckoner-esque shriek* some of my favorite relationship tropes were also here. ANYWAYS, FANTASTIC DEBUT. Action, squealy bits, giant beasties, a nuanced cast of characters. Get on board.

~Allison Senecal

