Not a book I’d usually pick up (I don’t read much historical fiction or teen books), but I LOVED Girl in the Blue Coat! Set in Amsterdam during WWII, Henneke is just trying to keep herself and her family alive during the Nazi occupation of her home. Part of that survival mode means forgetting about Bas, her first love who died during the initial invasion. This already compelling story is heightened by a mystery when Henneke is asked to find a Jewish girl who seems to have vanished into thin air. Told with heart & compassion for a difficult period of history, I was consistently surprised by the many twists and turns this book took. Hesse never took the easy way out and the reader will reap the reward. I’d recommend this for adults & teens alike.
~Kelsey Myers
9780316260602_8102f
