Series-sly Great Reads

What’s better than one great book? A series of great books! While stand-alone stories are great, there’s something wonderful about becoming engrossed in a story that’s so exciting and extensive that it required the author multiple books to complete. We’ve collected some of our favorite series for a series-sly great blog post. Heh. Get it? Alright, we’ll stop.


A Middle-Grade Series to dive into: 

Grab a copy of The Lost Hero here!

Rick Riordan is most known for his Percy Jackson series, but he has a number of series that also venture into the world of myth and adventure. His Heroes of Olympus series follows various members of Camp Half-Blood (from the Percy Jackson series) on their own adventures! Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson, or any reader who enjoys mythology retellings. If you enjoy this series, Riordan has two other series in the works — the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard and Trials of Apollo series’.


A few Young Adult series’ to capture your fancy: 

Grab a copy of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom!

Leigh Bardugo is known for her Grisha trilogy (Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising). Her newest series is set in the same world as the Grisha trilogy and follows a group of six outcasts as they attempt to steal a priceless treasure from an impenetrable fortress. A truly phenomenal tale, this series will captivate you from beginning to end!


Grab a copy of The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings!

This series follows Gen, a thief who is pulled from jail for his claims of being able to steal anything. The story is told in the subsequent books through a myriad of voices as Gen’s story grows more complicated and the people he cares for are threatened. This series deserves a place on every bookshelf, as it’s a wonderfully written tale of danger, love, loss, and intrigue.


Some Adult Fiction series’ to throw into the mix: 

Get your copy of A Darker Shade of Magic, A Gathering of Shadows, and A Conjuring of Light!

V.E. Schwab has written middle grade, young adult, and adult fiction novels, all of which are wonderful. Her most recent completed series, Shades of Magic, follows Kell — a magician who can travel between parallel versions of London — as he faces dark forces of magic that want to overwhelm the world he knows and loves.


Get Dragon Tattoo, Played with Fire, Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, and Spider’s Web here!

This mystery series is creepy and thrilling. The first in the series went on to become a movie, and the writing throughout all of the books will capture your interest and attention just as much as anything on the big screen. Perfect for anyone who likes a good thrill.


A Graphic Novel series to capture your attention: 

Grab Book One, Book Two, and Book Three here!

This beautifully illustrated story follows Congressman John Lewis through his life and his experiences in the Civil Rights Movement. A phenomenal look into one of the country’s most influential Congressmen, this graphic novel is a must read for anyone interested in U.S. history or civil and human rights.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s