What We’re Reading

As Booksellers, we’re always reading. And one of our favorite things to do is talk about what we’re reading! So check out a few of the titles we’re loving right now.

 

Melanie- Dogs and Goddesses by Jennifer Crusie, Anne Stuart, and Lani Diane Rich

dogsandgoddesses

(This fantastically fun and cute novel is out of print, so let us know if you’re interested and we can do some digging and find a used copy for you!)

Jennifer Crusie is one of my favorite authors. So when I stumbled across an old copy of Dogs and Goddesses (one of the only Crusie novels I hadn’t yet read) I was thrilled. As expected, Crusie and company have written an laugh-out-loud romp with a Mesopotamian, three ordinary women from Ohio who discover they’re not quite so ordinary, and plenty of dogs.

 

Renee – Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus by Dusti Bowling

lifeofacactus

Pre-order a copy today!

This is a super sweet and funny story about a girl, Aven, who was born without arms. But she doesn’t let that stop her from doing anything (and I mean, anything). When her parents take a job managing an Old West theme park in Arizona, Aven’s life is disrupted and she must overcome the “looks” she gets from all her new classmates. But she makes friends with a boy, Connor, who has his own disability to conquer. The two of them stumble upon a mystery at the park and work together to solve it and overcome their insecurities.

 

Revati – You Can’t Touch My Hair: And Other Things I Still Have to Explain by Phoebe Robinson

youcanttouchmyhair

 

Order a copy!

I mainly know comedian Phoebe Robinson from her podcasts, “2 Dope Queens” and “Sooo Many White Guys”.  Her strong personality and comedy continue to shine through in this book as well.  Robinson discusses her experiences with everyday racism and sexism in her life in a manner that will make you think and laugh out loud.  Fans of Mindy Kaling and Chuck Klosterman will love this book.

 

Tara – Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

boymeetsboy

Order a copy!

Just in time for Pride month, this is the adorable gay teen romance you have been searching for. Filled with whimsy, sweetness, and plenty of ups and downs to keep you glued to the page. If you’re looking for a fun and romantic summer read give this one a try.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s