Confessions of a Romance Convert

Hello readers.

I have a confession.

I, Ren, am a fan of romance novels.

I wasn’t always. For the longest time I despised romance novels. They were overly sappy, unrealistic, and worked against feminism. They were books for housewives with too many kids. And the covers? Don’t even get me started on those.

But then, my fellow booksellers, who have long been fans of romance novels, started a romance book club. The first book they chose? When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare.

You should know that I have a weakness for anything Scottish (besides haggis), and if that Scottish thing happens to be wearing a kilt, all the better. So I decided to take a chance.

It. Was. Incendiary. 

giphy1

My prejudice of romance novels has been dissolved by one imaginary Scotsman that turned out to be real (read Tessa’s book and that will make sense). Don’t misunderstand, there are still plenty of bad romance and erotica books out there (looking at you Fifty Shades of Grey) but there are also lots of good ones!

Romance novels are adorable, heart-warming, make-you-smile-like-an-idiot reads that are quick and easy to finish and never fail to transport you away from whatever real life is throwing at you.

giphy

So if you used to be like me, maybe take a chance. Find a romance novel that speaks to you. A bit of advice though: try to avoid reading it in public.

Happy Reading,

Ren

Leave a Reply

