Review: Penric’s Progress

Hello readers! 

Sometimes it is hard to find things to be thankful for in 2020.  But there is one thing I can unreservedly grateful for and that is that Lois McMaster Bujold has finally gotten the Penric stories published in a non-collector edition!  

In January Penric’s Progress came out with a gorgeous cover and the first stories of how our hero came to be possessed by a daemon, enlisted in the Bastard’s order, and named his daemon Desdemona. Lois McMaster Bujold has earned some controversy on where to start her other series, but for Penric, I would advise starting with Penric’s Progress. It fits into the Challion world, and her trilogy is superior, but you do not need to read those books before Penric. If–like me–you fall madly in love with the stories, be my guest. All three of the original books are great reads.

In any case do read Penric’s Travels.  Then you are stuck, because the next story came out in a collectors edition by Subterranean Press, and there will be more time until we get a Baen edition of Orphans of Raspay. And the Orphans of Raspay is my favorite book that I have read this year. Of course, Lois McMaster Bujold’s subtle humor gets me laughing all through the story, and this time one line at the end had me crying. So run, don’t walk! to the bookstore to buy these books. You are going to have pure enjoyment as you hear the story of Penric and Desdemona and how they grow and change.  


You can purchase the books in the Penric series by clicking their titles above. Remember, we deliver on Wednesdays and Saturdays, so you don’t have to leave your house to get amazing books!

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s